High Performance Pontiac
1 |  2 |  3 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

455 Timing Question

Freakytiki4u Freakytiki4u
New User | Posts: 8 | Joined: 05/10
Posted: 05/31/10
10:03 AM

I have a 1981 Trans Am with a newly rebuilt 455 in it. Initial timing is set to 12 degrees but under hard acceleration, or when the motor gets warmed up, the valves sound like they are going to come out of the engine. Any ideas? Can I idle the motor up a lil and advance the timing (without a timing light and see if it runs better under acceleration? I really don't want to hurt anything but I don't own a timing light.  

Pontiacman8 Pontiacman8
Moderator | Posts: 5771 | Joined: 02/08
11:37 AM

Is the balancer new because if it is a old one it may be spun and that will give you a false timing reading.  
Engine builder,self taught auto body guy.
Horsepower sells engines and torque wins races

Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8

12:42 PM

I am unsure as I purchased the car in its current state, having done none of the engine work myself. I would imagine the balancer to be new because of the extensive rebuilding of the power train but I could be wrong. When the car is cold, it runs great, no valve pinging at all, even under hard acceleration, but when it warms up, it pings badly.  

Pontiacman8 Pontiacman8
02:22 PM

Is it over heating?
What temperature is the engine running?  

Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8

03:29 PM

When I first acquired the car it was running around 210 degrees F. I removed the 190 degree thermostat and installed a 160 degree and it gets to about 190 now. Not over heating.  

biggstepp biggstepp
User | Posts: 130 | Joined: 03/10
07:38 PM