Item Posts    Sort Order

Camshaft Nitriding

chrisaustria chrisaustria
User | Posts: 187 | Joined: 01/13
Posted: 01/31/13
11:15 AM

Hi!

What do you think of that?
My engine builder wants to harden the cam because of some bad experience in the last time most because of the low zinc engine oil I guess.
This is what CompCams offers: http://www.compcams.com/nitriding/ (pretty much the same as what he wants to do)

The CompCams camshafts come with some kind of coating.. Is there something to worry about if I use the standard camshaft with my mild performance engine that will mainly be driven on the street? I use 15w40 and add ZDDP.

Chris  

Pontiacman8 Pontiacman8
Moderator | Posts: 5775 | Joined: 02/08
11:37 AM

I have always used valvoline VR-1 it has higher levels of ZDDP in it and have never had any problems as long as you do a proper break in on the camshaft.  
Engine builder,self taught auto body guy.
Horsepower sells engines and torque wins races

Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8

barnett468 barnett468
User | Posts: 223 | Joined: 12/12
10:28 PM

Chris, chris, chris

I woke up this morning and the sky was blue and the birds were singing. I as well as some others had hoped that your questions were all behind you and the next time we heard from you regarding your very nice motor you would be happily saying, “got my car running and it kicks a__".

My coating comment is this, others opinions may be different. Flip a coin, heads coat it, tails, don’t. this may truly be more helpful in your specific case than you realize. Please read Pontiac man’s statement very slowly several times you may then understand what he really means.  

Pontiacmans answer is short, sweet and to the point and says a whole lot more than it appears to but only those of us with proficient engine building skills and extensive experience and zddp knowledge or those that have read about these things truly understand the beauty of his statement. I think he is being a bit naughty here.