can valve springs alone = 15HP gain ???

High Performance Pontiac
Item Posts    Sort Order

can valve springs alone = 15HP gain ???

buzzinhalfdoz buzzinhalfdoz
User | Posts: 234 | Joined: 07/12
Posted: 05/19/13
07:32 AM

the 1973 455 is all stock except for 702 lunati cam and lifters ,comp roller tip rockers,and heads cut .040.(yes i reused my 40+ year old valve springs, they were good to break in the new cam.)
i have a friend who before health issues was a circle track car mechanic for about 20 years.
he says that by changing my wore out springs to what lunati called for (120lb springs), that i could get 15-20 hp. he swears he has seen it on the dyno.
i have been wreching on v-8s for over 35 years, i graduated NADC in nashville in 1981, i thought i understood engine operation, but i dont understand this.
if the old springs are closeing the valve why would stronger springs add any power???
any thoughts???
ps- max redline 5000rpm.  

70bird 70bird
Guru | Posts: 1064 | Joined: 02/13
09:03 AM

Hello

All i can think of off hand is that a weak spring is more prone to allowing valve "bounce".  

04:56 PM

thanks i know i should have changed the springs with the rebuild but was trying to save money.  when i can afford it i will replace them and c.  

barneyformula barneyformula
Addict | Posts: 3306 | Joined: 01/07
Posted: 05/20/13
06:13 AM

The only way a stiffer spring is going to make more HP is if the springs already in use are inadequate to keep the valvetrain following the cam lobe profile. I've heard this statement from "experts" saying that you could gain power in a stock 305 by putting better valvesprings on it. Suuuurrre! And jacking up the rearend makes the car think it's rolling downhill too!
Always use the springs recommended for the cam unless you are running a really mild cam and the stock springs are adequate.
Steve  
A little help... 'cause we don't all have to learn the hard way!

70bird 70bird
Guru | Posts: 1064 | Joined: 02/13
07:54 AM

Hello