High Performance Pontiac
Item Posts    Sort Order
Locked Thread Sticky Thread

gear drives.

Pontiacman8 Pontiacman8
Moderator | Posts: 5779 | Joined: 02/08
Posted: 12/11/13
08:27 AM

Gear drives can be a nice addition to a high performance engine.

They ensure that the cam position you select will stay right where you put it.

No "stretch" will occur like you have a with a timing chain. ( no matter who manufactured it.)

The drop on gear drives like the Pete Jackson are simple to install too.

If you need to move the cam you will need an offset wood-ruff key.

There is however, one thing I want newbies to understand. I'm talking to those guys that want that "noisy" or "blower sounding"

gear drives. In order to make noise, you must have friction. If you haven't learned this yet,

YOU WANT LESS FRICTION IN YOUR ENGINE!!!!!

So,

if you want the most you can get from your engine, DON'T add friction.

Think how you can lessen friction.  
Engine builder,self taught auto body guy.
Horsepower sells engines and torque wins races

Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8

4zpeed 4zpeed
Enthusiast | Posts: 369 | Joined: 04/13
06:50 PM

Hey Pman,
Glad you posted this, its always nice to encounter fresh ideas, not that this would be fresh to most but it certainly is to me. Guess you can consider me one of the noobs as I don't have a lot of experience engine building,... er a..., make that any experience engine building. Don't get me wrong, I've seen my share of timing chains but never encountered a gear drive. Although it doesn't totally look foreign it does appear odd.

Seems this configuration would add a lot of mass as well as friction to the drive train, and beyond the obvious advantage of no slack or stretch in a chain I fail to see where this would be advantageous as surely over time one would expect to see wear and play in the gears.