High Performance Pontiac
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

Help with 350 Combo

lpaulmorgan lpaulmorgan
New User | Posts: 28 | Joined: 01/14
Posted: 01/19/14
04:56 AM

Hey guys I'm new to the sight, and new to Ponchos to be honest. I just bought a 68 Firebird and I am looking to get some more power out of it. It currently has a .030 rebuilt 350 with stock #17 heads with about stock 8.6:1 cr, SpeedPro 1038 cam, Performer Intake, Edelbrock 600 carb, dougs longtubes, TH350 with a 2000 stall and not sure on the rear gear but it feels around 3.55.

I was planning on swapping to a RPM intake and a different cam, but curious on you guys' thoughts.

Thanks  

shyrgfuh70 shyrgfuh70
User | Posts: 93 | Joined: 12/13
05:45 AM

hi;

welcome.

what is the advertised duration on that? it is a low rpm cam.

COMPRESSION - i would boost my compression up first. the "bigger" the cam the lower the compression.

your 17 heads should be 72 cc, this gives you a static comp of 9.1. if you mill them .026" from stock, you will have 9.45 comp.

this will increase you hp and tq by around 2.75% throughput the entire rpm range.
it all adds up.

it will also increase your mileage slightly but you might need to run 91 octane.

HEAD PORTING - I would get the heads pocket ported and have the intake valves back cut while they were off. A cam needs good flowing heads to operate to its fullest potential.

CAM - basically, installing a bigger cam simply raises the entire operating range of an engine. this must be compensated for by installing lower gears.

i suggest you verify your gear ratio before buying a bigger cam unless you don't mind changing gears.

for a bit more fun with a different cam, i might use comp xe262h or a comp xe268h and advance it 4 degrees or a lunati voodoo 60202.

RPM INTAKE - this will cost you a little bottom end. I might run what you have and try a 1" spacer to see if it helps or hurts your perf.

CARB - What type is it.